Why do you hang out with me?


Friend #1
Why do you hang out with me?

Friend #2
Because I can be me around you.

Friend #1
How so? I don’t think I understand what you mean.

Friend #2
Have you ever had a new pair of shoes pinch?

Friend #1
For sure! I have scars to prove it.

Friend #2
It’s like that. The pinching makes you uncomfortable. It grabs your attention until you do something to relieve the discomfort. You can’t attend to anything else. You can’t enjoy the good qualities of the shoes either.

Friend #1
Okay, but how is that related to you hanging out with me?

Friend #2
You don’t pinch like the shoe, so I don’t feel uncomfortable. I can be me. And I get to enjoy the goodness you are.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.